Student Awards & Acknowledgements

Samuel E. Morrison Award: a certificate of honor and a monetary award presented annually for the best senior thesis research paper.

  • 2015: Jordan Sieracki (History & Political Science), The Buffalo Charter School Movement: Public Funds for Private Profit
  • 2014: Fuad Abdul (Political Science), Axis of Terror: The Impact of Policy Objectives on State Willingness to Proliferate Terrorism
  • 2013: Kevin Koons (History & Government), Corvette Culture
  • 2012: Jessica Doyle (History & Government), The Buffalo State Hospital for the Insane: A Symbol of Progress That Deserves to Be Preserved
  • 2011: Michael Feldman (History & Government), Ethnocentrism in the Portrayal of the Late 19th Century's Armenian Massacre
  • 2010: Timothy Rentschler (History & Government-Adolescent Education), Japanese American Internment and The New York Times: Propaganda, Persuasion, and Manipulation
  • 2009:  Rachel Baird (History & Government-Adolescent Education)

Department Valedictorian: a certificate of honor and a monetary award is presented annually to the graduating senior with the highest departmental grade point average.

  • 2015: Christian Lasal (History & Political Science: Environmental Specialization)
  • 2014: Fuad Abdul (Political Science)
  • 2013 Co-Recipients: Kaeleigh Jessen (History & Government) and Kaleigh Ratliff (History & Government)
  • 2012: Courtney Donovan (History & Government)
  • 2011: Thomas Castle (History & Government)
  • 2010: Timothy Rentschler (History & Government-Adolescent Education)
  • 2009: Jenni Blackwell (Political Science)

Ruth Stratton Memorial Scholarship: A one-time $500 award to the most promising sophomore or junior student in the department. Each recipient's name is inscribed on a plaque in the department suite.

  • 2014: Emily Kraft (History)
  • 2013: Christian Lasal (History & Political Science: Environmental Specialization)
  • 2012: Fuad Abdul (Political Science)
  • 2011: Kaleigh Ratliff (History & Government)
  • 2010: Sarah Rodman (Political Science)
  • 2009: Meghan Allen (History & Government)


World of Opportunity Wizard

Wow! Did you know Daemen students can start internships early on?

Daemen students can start their internship experiences at the beginning of their sophomore year.

Start Your Journey Now Close

Support Daemen

Memorial Wall in the Research and Information Commons  

Memorial Giving
A memorial gift is a gift that takes on special meaning and memorial givers enjoy knowing their actions will live on for future generations.