First-Year Students Awarded Prestigious Trustee Scholarships

First-Year Students Awarded Prestigious Trustee Scholarships

AMHERST, N.Y. – Daemen College has chosen 10 outstanding first-year students to receive 2017 Trustee Scholarships, the college’s most prestigious academic scholarship that is renewable throughout their undergraduate studies. The college has also awarded six Transfer Trustee Scholarships to high-achieving new transfer students.

To be considered for the Trustee Scholarship, prospective first-year students are nominated by Daemen President Gary A. Olson to apply for the awards and then participate in interviews with college faculty and staff. More than 200 top students from Connecticut, Maryland, Michigan, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Texas, and other states from across the U.S., as well as from Canada competed for this year’s coveted scholarships.  

Selection is based on academic achievement, vision for self and society, enthusiasm and inspiration, academic and personal discipline, and leadership ability. Both intellect and character are considered, and selected scholars are those who have the potential to make a difference in their careers and in the Daemen and external communities.

Prospective transfer students are also nominated by Daemen’s president to compete for Trustee Scholarships and are interviewed on Transfer Trustee Scholar’s Night held in the spring. Scholarships are awarded to transfer students based on the same selection criteria as first-year recipients.

The 2017 Daemen Trustee Scholars are:

  • Jericho Adams of Newfane, Newfane Senior High School – pre-medicine major.
  • Anthony Cupello of Rochester, Greece Arcadia High School – accounting major.
  • Arianna Filiaci of Fairport, Fairport High School – art major.
  • Arden Gudmundsson of Dundalk, Md., Eastern Technical High School – graphic design major.
  • Alexandra Hasiotis of Rochester, Odyssey Academy – athletic training major.
  • Julie Karpinski of Buffalo, Cleveland Hill High School – business administration major.
  • Brianne Nightingale of Lancaster, Lancaster Central High School – visual arts education major.
  • Jared Russom of Delmar, Bethlehem Central High School – athletic training major.
  • Aiden Tolley of Pittsford, Pittsford Mendon High School – undeclared major.
  • Jordan Vazquez of Lockport, Lockport High School – adolescence education in mathematics major.

This year’s Transfer Trustee Scholars are:

  • Emily Bush of Gouverneur, Gouverneur High School – physical therapy major.
  • Victoria Carmina of Fredericksburg, Va., Colonial Forge High School – illustration major.
  • Carly Scott of Batavia, Batavia High School – biology major.
  • Himdeep Singh of Amherst, New Milford High School – pre-medicine major.
  • Francesca Sysol of Fredonia, Fredonia High School – social work major.
  • Andrew Ward of Jamestown, Falconer Central High School – physical therapy major.